All Good Things…

It was bound to happen.  There was really no way to stop it.  And really, why would I want to?  It makes me happy but…(There always seems to be a but, doesn’t there?)  Yes my little man is two now.  Growing up, maturing, all that good stuff.  He all ready has such an independent streak, being a big boy and all.  No, I don’t need to hold your hand to walk down the sidewalk.  I can pour my own drink, Daddy(it turns out he can’t).  And I do not feel that it is necessarily a bad thing.  A bird never learns to fly if it doesn’t leave the nest.  Sometimes a child needs to fall if for no other reason then to learn how to pick themselves up, dust themselves off and carry on.  And he might be a big boy but he’s still a little guy and ends up on  mine or Mommy’s lap quite often.  Snuggles and comforting are a daily requirement.

It’s hard to remember a time when he was not with us.  It seems like he has always been here while at the same time it seems like he came home from the hospital just the other day.  We’d been married for about two  years when he was born and I’d been home with the three stepchildren for that time.  I love them like my own but nothing is like the birth of your child.  It truly is a life changing experience.  I could not imagine not being in the delivery room.  Hell, I was so lost looking down at this tiny body while holding him that I wasn’t even going to hand him over to Momma.  But that’s a story for another time.

And now it’s two years later and that little bundle of joy is toddling all over the place, telling me no and picking out his own clothes.(A future in fashion, perhaps?)  The other day we went through three shirts and two pairs of shorts before he was happy with his outfit.  And I still have no idea what the criteria was.  It has been an amazing, watching this little eating pooping baby grow into a little boy, with a clear distinct personality.  He is all ready a burgeoning gourmand, no fast food fare for him when there is real food to be had.  Although, he does love his Happy Meals when that is what he has.

I look forward to watching him continue to grow, to see his personality continue to develop and have a part in shaping this boy into a man.  Hopefully, as I carry on with this blog, I’ll get in the habit of writing more in depth and document this time together.

Leave a Reply

